Jan 27, 2021  
2019-2020 Augusta University Catalog 
2019-2020 Augusta University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Medical College of Georgia

College Overview

The Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University has the 8th largest total enrollment in the nation. MCG expanded its incoming class from 190 to 230 students for the Fall 2010 class – 190 study in Augusta and an additional 40 students matriculate each year at the four-year Augusta University/University of Georgia Medical Partnership in Athens.

The college’s academic home, the J. Harold Harrison, MD, Education Commons, is a 187,000-square-foot high-tech medical education building on the main campus that features a 26,620-square-foot simulation laboratory, two 300-seat auditoriums, two 150-seat classrooms, 13 learning communities, and 13 small-group classrooms. Outside the classroom, MCG students have the opportunity to learn at AUHealth, which includes a 478-bed adult medical center facility ranked in the top 100 teaching hospitals nationwide, and the 154-bed Children’s Hospital of Georgia. Students also rotate at more than 200 affiliated clinical sites throughout the state. Third- and fourth-year students can also live in learn at one of three regional campuses in Southwest (Albany), Southeast (Savannah/Brunswick), and Northwest (Rome) Georgia.

MCG students volunteer extensively in the community, including staffing an after-hours health care clinic for Augusta’s homeless and uninsured, tutoring disadvantaged youth, and running a farmer’s market that offers produce and ideas on healthy eating to people in the inner-city.


College Administration

Dean: David Hess, MD
Augusta-Main Campus
Vice Dean: Paul Wallach, MD
Associate Dean for Curriculum: Renee Page, MD
Associate Dean for Evaluation: Andria Thomas, PhD
Associate Dean for Faculty Development: Ralph Gillies, PhD
Associate Dean for Admissions: Kelli Braun, MD
Associate Dean for Office of Student & Multicultural Affairs: Kimberly Vess Loomer, EDD
Associate Dean for Regional Campuses: Kathryn Martin, PhD
First Year Class Associate Dean: Lynnette Bauza, MD
Second Year Class Associate Dean: Greer Falls, MD
Third Year Class Associate Dean: Eric Lewkowiez, MD
Fourth Year Class Associate Dean: Stewart Shevits, MD
Medical Partnership-Athens
Parternship Campus Dean: Shelley Nuss, MD
Associate Dean for Partnership Campus Integration & Academic Enhancement: Leslie Petch-Lee, PhD
Partnership Campus Associate Dean for Medical Education: W. Scott Richardson, MD
Basic Sciences Chair, Interim Partnership Campus Associate Dean for Curriculum: Matthew Boegehold
Partnership Campus Associate Dean for Student & Multicultural Affairs: John Francis, MD, PhD
Partnership Campus Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Development: Gerald Crites, MD, M.Ed.
Partnership Chair of Clinical Sciences: Nancy Hockley, MD, FACS
Partnership Campus Associate Dean for Research: Jonathan Murrow, MD
Northwest Campus- Rome
NW Campus Associate Dean: Leonard Reeves, MD
Southwest Campus- Albany
SW Campus Associate Dean: Doug Patten, MD
Campus Assistant Dean for Curriculum- SW Campus: Sandra Mobley, PhD, RN
Southeast Campus – Brunswick/Savannah
Campus Associate Dean for Curriculum- SE Campus: T. Wayne Rentz Jr., MD, FACS
Campus Assistant Dean for Curriculum: Frances Purcell, PhD


Doctor of Medicine